How Old Are You?

“How can you live with him, he is so childish.”

Mallory gets asked this every day at work.

Teaching little kids means being a little kid. We are both teachers at an English language school. She works with kids from elementary to high school age. I teach mostly elementary age and I have a kindergarten class as well.

My kindy kids are from four to six and they are freaks! They are so weird they make me weird. I never know what the day will bring when I walk into my classroom full of twenty little psychos.

Image

Since little kids don’t know how normal humans act, it can be totally liberating, but some days I want to pull my hair out. To keep these kids interested in English I have to be 110% of my normal energy (normally I’m a steady 65%). Luckily I can blow their minds with the simplest things. Yesterday, I talked to my finger; just to be weird (we have been singing Where Is Thumbkin) they couldn’t get enough. About a month ago they learned the word underwear, I don’t know if they’ll ever get tired of it.

Some times they really bring out the best in me, other days I feel defeated. Kindergarten is an emotional rollercoaster, but if you can hack it you will be a rock star to any five year old you meet.

Image

3 thoughts on “How Old Are You?

    • No doubt. My youngest students are the sweetest kids and it’s so rewarding because they learn so much so fast. Thanks for reading us!

Leave a Reply

